Skip to main content
Announcements , Homelessness , Housing Policy Briefs

Now Accepting Nominations for the 14th Annual Housing Awards!

30 January 2019
Partnership for Strong Communities

Honor someone for their commitment to ending homelessness in Connecticut!

UPDATE: Nominations have been extended through Friday, March 15. Nominate your housing hero today!

We are now accepting nominations for the 2019 Housing Awards to be presented at the 14th Annual Reaching Home Celebration. The annual Housing Awards honor the dedication of the many people across Connecticut who contribute to ending homelessness. 

We encourage you to nominate colleagues, partners, volunteers, and consumers who have gone above and beyond in the work of the Reaching Home Campaign. The Reaching Home Coordinating Committee will select award recipients from the nominations. All nominations are due by March 15, 2019 -- Send in yours today!

Click here to nominate an individual or group.

If you have any issues accessing and/or submitting this form, please contact Grace Fontanarosa at or 860-244-0066 ext 303 and she will assist you.

Nomination Guidelines & Award Categories

Please review the following nomination guidelines:

1) Individuals who live or work in Connecticut, and who promote or advocate solutions to end homelessness are eligible for nomination.
2) Members of the HOMEConnecticut or Reaching Home committees, boards or partner organizations are eligible. Partnership for Strong Communities employees are NOT eligible.
3) Award recipients of any of the awards in the last 6 years are not eligible.
4) You may submit as many nominations in as many categories as you would like.

Award Categories:

The Carol Walter Housing Tenant Award This award recognizes two housing tenants who show commitment to advocacy for permanent housing solutions, exhibit leadership skills, and work to make their community a better place. 

The Award is named in honor of Carol Walter, a much-loved Executive Director of the Connecticut Coalition to End Homelessness. A respected advocate in the area of housing and homelessness, Carol was passionate and tireless in her work to end homelessness.

Award recipient Faith Mack receives the Carol Walter Housing Tenant Award from Kellyann Day at the 2018 Reaching Home Dinner. 

The Diane Randall Leadership Award
This award recognizes an individual or group who demonstrate(s) exemplary leadership in the public or private sector by promoting systems change, policies and funding that create solutions to prevent and end homelessness. 

This award recognizes Diane Randall, the first Executive Director of the Partnership for Strong Communities. Under Diane’s leadership, the Partnership advocated for more than $400M of funding from the CT General Assembly for supportive and affordable housing, launched the Reaching Home Campaign and served as a leading voice for housing opportunity, homelessness elimination and the creation of vibrant communities.

The Middlesex Community Care Team is honored for their leadership in ending homelessness.

The Rev. Richard Schuster Advocacy Award
This award recognizes a professional or volunteer who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to raising awareness about the needs of individuals and families currently/in danger of experiencing homelessness, using either legislative or client-centered advocacy. Either through direct work with people experiencing homelessness, managing local programs, or organizing advocacy, they’ve had a strong and positive impact in efforts to end homelessness.

This award honors Dick Schuster for his work advancing and advocating for supportive housing. Dick made ending homelessness his life’s work for over forty years, leading St. Luke’s LifeWorks as Executive Director for twenty-two years. A founder of the CT Coalition to End Homelessness and the CT AIDS Resource Coalition, Dick was also a founding member of the Reaching Home Steering Committee which he chaired for three years.

Caitlin Mongillo and Justin Williams receive their awards at the 2018 Reaching Home Dinner.

The Barbara Geller Career Achievement Award
This award recognizes an individual who has worked tirelessly throughout their lifetime or career to help people experiencing homelessness to find housing and support, reconnect with family and friends, and reach their full potential. This award goes to a person who stands above the crowd over decades of truly extraordinary work toward ending and preventing homelessness in Connecticut.

The Barbara Geller Career Achievement Award was first given in 2015 to Barbara to honor her for her longstanding commitment, passion and accomplishments in providing supportive housing for those experiencing chronic homelessness. Recipients of the award will embody the spirit that made Barbara an unforgettable friend and colleague: her leadership, guidance, and inspiration, all unfailingly delivered with grace, good humor and respect for everyone. Awardee names will be added to the commemorative plaque housed at Geller Commons in Hamden, an affordable and supportive housing development named in Barbara’s honor.

DMHAS Commissioner Miriam Delphin-Rittmon presents Sharon Castelli with the Barbara Geller Career Achievement Award. 

Click here to submit a nomination.